The Unknown Black Saucepan

12/28/2015 11:31

It was the Saturday morning, my husband Gurasis and I were having our tea while my mother-in-law was busy doing her prayer. When suddenly the door bell rang. "Who can be there at this time?"said my husband while getting up to open the door. When he opened the door then there was a parcel placed on the footstep near the door. It was beautifully packed with a red ribbon on it and with no address or name and neither the person who kept it there, but there was a small note saying 'with love'."Dear, I think one of your lover has send the gift for my beautiful lady"mockingly said Gurasis but he was sounding more of surprised, curious and some what jealous.We checked the parcel completely but there was no mark for identification of sender on it.Then my superstitious mother-in-law said that there might be something harm full in it, like black magic."Once in my village, when I was young, there same kind parcel was found at uncle Rama's place. They opened it and within few days they were totally ruined. All their fields got burned, their cattle became ill and their 90 year old grandfather died. So, don't open it. We will give it to Rema, our maid.""But mom now in this scientific world no one believe in all this black magic" said Gurasis to which agreeingly I added "and mom why anyone wants to harm us? Let's us just open it and check but we won't use it." After a having a great argument for almost an hour, we finally decided to open the parcel. Inside there was a black colour saucepan and under which there was a note 'Christmas gift from Ayeesa to her lovely Mom'. It was a gift for my mother-in-law. We still laugh many a times whenever I use that saucepan.